Events Archive 2007-2008

Spring 2008 Dean's List

Congratulations to the following Computer Science students who were named to the Dean List for Spring 2008:

Hyojoo Ahn, Vahid Anthony Kame Ajimine, Amber Natasha Reiko Arakaki, Aja Cornella, Stephanie Faith Dinkins, Vladimir Kirilov Ivanov, Yekaterina Konstantinovna Kharitonova, Joon Hyun Kim, Joshua Keala Loving, DongHee Park, Christopher Robin Usher, Joel Micah Weis, Noah Kent Woodden, Tyler T. Yoshiyama, Andrew Paul Zdyrski.

Daniel G. Fox Prize for Excellence in Computer Science: 2008-2009

The winner for 2008-2009 is Vlady Ivanov. Congratulations! Everyone enjoyed the party! Fox Award 2008-09 pic 1Fox Award 2008-09 pic 2

Addison-Wesley Book Award for Outstanding First Year Computer Science

The Addison-Wesley Book Award for Outstanding First Year Computer Science student for 2008-2009 went to Joshua Loving. Congratulations!

Joshua Loving earning the Book Award 2008-09

Major Field Achievement Test - 21 years and counting

Junior and Senior CS majors in 2008 continued the spring tradition of taking the Major Field Achievement Test in Computer Science. During the 21 year period we have participated in this testing process, UHH students have performed at or above national norms on the test overall and on each of the subareas in every year except one. This year's students put UHH in the 60th percentile of the 129 institutional scores making up the national norm. Good job!

ʻImiloa Tour

Imiloa tour picture

Students and faculty get a behind the scenes tour of the impressive computing and projection facilities for the 3-D planetarium at Imiloa.

ACM Programming Contest 2007

In November 2007 the department sent two teams of 3 students each to participate in the Oahu site for the Pacific Northwest Regional ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) International Collegiate Programming Contest, the fourth year of our participation in this event. We are very proud that, under the dedicated coaching of Dr. Keith Edwards, the teams placed first and second in the state.

Leslie Fife presents plaque to team coach Dr. Keith Edwards. Winning Team Anonymous members: Jahrain Jackson Yekaterina Kharitonova Chris Usher

Second place Team Decepticons prepare for battle. Team members: Vladimir Ivanov Collin Schrandt Andrew Zdryski

LAN Party Fundraising

Students held several LAN parties as fundraising events for the ACM programming contest. Concentration reigns supreme!

LAN Party 1LAN Party 2

Summer Internships 2007

This was a great summer for student intern experiences: